Deutscher Künstlerbund e.V.
Artists' support of the Deutscher Künstlerbund

»If we want art to prosper, it needs footing and promotion«, Harry Graf Kessler wrote 1903 on the occasion of the establishment of the Deutscher Künstlerbund in Weimar. One of the most important goals of the Deutscher Künstlerbund should be the support and promotion of younger artists and their work.

Glenfiddich Förderpreis für junge Kunst

2002 Isa Melsheimer, Berlin

Deutscher Künstlerbundpreis der Sparkasse

In 1990 two art awards emerged from the Stiftung des Deutschen Sparkassen und Giroverbandes, which were assigned until 1999 by an annually changing jury. The award consisted of a promotion endowed with DM 30.000.- and was awarded as a one-off payment to a younger participant of the exhibition. The subsidy award was assigned to:

2000 Fritz Schwegler, Breech
1999 Jürgen Drescher
1998 Tyyne Claudia Pollmann, Berlin
1997 Martin Dörbaum, Berlin
1996 Suse Wiegand, Düsseldorf
1995 Jörg Sasse, Düsseldorf
1994 Hermann Pitz, Düsseldorf
1993 Tilo Schulz, Leipzig
1992 Andrea Ostermeyer, Hannover
1991 Friedhelm Falke, Hannover
1990 Bernhard Garbert, Berlin

Harry Graf Kessler-Preis

This honorary award acknowledges the complete oeuvre of a renowned artist. To symbolize the honouring, a sphere consisting of a semiprecious stone and an engraved gold plate is handed over to the artist, designed by the Hamburg goldsmith Gerda Stelzer. The honorary award was assigned to:

1998 Anton Stankowski, Stuttgart
1997 Reiner Ruthenbeck, Ratingen
1996 Rune Mields, Cologne
1995 Erwin Heerich, Meerbusch
1994 Rupprecht Geiger, Munich
1993 Ernst Hermanns, Gauting/Munich
1992 Carlfriedrich Claus, Annaberg-Buchholz
1991 Emil Schumacher, Hagen
1990 Rolf Szymanski, Berlin

Kunstpreis des Deutschen Künstlerbundes

In 1988 another sponsor for an art award of the Deutscher Künstlerbund could be won – the Deutscher Sparkassen- und Giroverband. The award, endowed with DM 30.000.-, was awarded in equal shares to:

1989 Heinz Breloh, Düsseldorf and Beate Terfloth, Berlin
1988 Fred Thieler, Berlin and Hartmut Neumann, Cologne

Furthermore in 1988, the Landesgirokasse Stuttgart donated two special prizes endowed with DM 10.000.-, which were awarded to the artist duo Klaus Geldmacher/Edmund Kieselbach, Düsseldorf and the artist Hans-Jürgen Breuste, Hannover.

Marianne und Hansfried Defet-Preis

From 1981 to 1985 already the Marianne und Hansfried Defet-Preis was donated by the identically named couple from Nuremberg for the exhibition of the Deutscher Künstlerbund. The award was endowed with DM 10.000.- and it was primarily awarded to younger artists for an artistic overall performance. The awardees were:

1985 Timm Ulrichs, Hannover
1984 Gisela Walther, Munich
1983 Hiromi Akiyama, Karlsruhe
1982 Johannes Brus, Essen
1981 Albrecht von Hancke, Karlsruhe